U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-20-2014, 09:41 PM

7 posts, read 11,254 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone-

I am currently a systems analyst in a healthcare firm and have 3 career options. What I do will be very similar but the title will be different. I will support solution team for clinical IT implementations.

Option 1 is to be a Project Manager.

Option 2 is to be a Technical Project Manager.

Option 3 is to be a Management Consultant.

I will accept one of these roles and work for 3 more years. After the third year, I plan to move a smaller company for a director or associate director position. My question is that which title can be the best pick for my future career and can lead me a management position. Although the job descriptions will be almost identical, I believe that title plays an important role for future position. It makes my application more visible. Can you please share your industry experience.

Note: I am have an engineering undergrad degree and work in healthcare IT
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-20-2014, 10:23 PM

49,990 posts, read 49,455,451 times
Option 1

Old 11-21-2014, 08:49 AM

9,023 posts, read 12,206,482 times

Consultant is what unemployed and short term contract people call themselves. 1 and 2 are virtually identical, but you're casting a wider net by not limiting your "project management" solely to technical items.

Old 11-21-2014, 09:46 AM

2,761 posts, read 2,561,024 times
hahaha... consultant... reminds my of "The Bobs" from the movie Office Space