U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-04-2008, 08:41 PM

258 posts, read 1,464,736 times

Advertisements

Can anyone help me with ideas of becoming a freelance writer? I have a bachelor of arts degree but its not in journalism or writing. However I have taken many creative and technical writing classes throughout school and feel its something I want to pursue. I do hear how hard it is to make a living as a writer in general. Everyone I've contacted wants examples of published work which I don't have. How can I break into this field?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-04-2008, 08:56 PM

421 posts, read 1,291,332 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by california??? View Post
Can anyone help me with ideas of becoming a freelance writer? I have a bachelor of arts degree but its not in journalism or writing. However I have taken many creative and technical writing classes throughout school and feel its something I want to pursue. I do hear how hard it is to make a living as a writer in general. Everyone I've contacted wants examples of published work which I don't have. How can I break into this field?
I am in the same place as you are. I bought a book on how to succeed as a freelance writer. It's called "Make a real living as a Freelance Writer" by Jenna Glatzer. She gives some website info also.
I will say that all that I have heard you don't make "real" money right away. So it takes awhile.
What type of genre do you want to write for?

Old 03-04-2008, 09:02 PM