Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-19-2017, 09:57 PM

1,570 posts, read 4,622,086 times

Advertisements

So to make a long story short: I recently relocated to an area that our company has just expanded to. I made the move for several reasons some personal but also in hopes to move up faster as the need here is greater. I have lots of experience in the field and have been working in a lower position in hopes of moving up. I was told this new market would be a great place to move up quicker and grow with the company. I have been at the new location for 2 days and my new manager takes me to the side and asks if I felt my evaluation was accurate. He said the evaluation my last manager gave me was too good and started asking me certain questions that pertain directly to the higher up position he is in NOT the position I am currently in. When I explained to him that the evaluation was based on my current job title and that I felt it was accurate he told me it was not and that no one who has been with the company as little as I have should get an evaluation as good as mine. I am an open minded person and I try to avoid conflict so I kind of went on with his whole speech about how he wants to help me get to where I want to be but I have to come down to reality and understand I have a lot to learn about the company and that my past experience alone isn't enough for me to move up. How should I handle this going forward? As much as what he says might hurt my ego a little do you think he may have some merit in what he's