U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-10-2009, 11:13 AM

222 posts, read 755,098 times

Advertisements

Hello,
Since I have never done it before, I would like to hear some ideas.
Thank you
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-10-2009, 11:36 AM

5,978 posts, read 18,796,209 times
I assume you are going to negotiate after a job offer...please don't mention this before then, unless you are asked. In the event you are asked, always say you are flexible and it is negotiable.

If the offer is not exactly what you had in mind, I would do the following. I say this because it has always worked for me:

I ask if there is any wiggle room at all in the offer, but have a figure in mind based on your honest assessment of your skills and a thorough research of the market rate for the position. Try for midpoint of a range if that is available to you.

If that does not work, request a sign-on bonus. This is a one time commitment to them, and I believe it is not treated as normal payroll (which means they may not have to pay payroll taxes on it, unemployment insurance, FICA, etc. etc.) so it is a sweeter deal to them. Plus, next year, you revert to what was originally offered to you. I got a sign-on bonus in my current job.