U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-25-2010, 09:43 PM

72 posts, read 388,587 times

Advertisements

Is it fairly normal to work 60 hours year round in public accounting, especially a smaller firm of around 10 employees? I recently started a new job and they require 55-60 hours every week. It really is more than I want to work, but in this economy I didn't have much choice. Time you work out the hours worked, I only earn around 12.00 an hour. I have my master's and undergrad in accounting, but have not taken the CPA exam yet.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-25-2010, 10:14 PM

28,461 posts, read 76,220,082 times
A lot depends on the compensation structure and the competitiveness of other firms in your area -- a bigger city like Chicago tends to have a wide range of compensation packages, everything from straight hourly contractors to folks with a salary highly dependent on bonuses. A young accountant could probably get a crummy apartment for under $600/mo or get a roommate for even less and $35K is going to go pretty far...

Different types of employers have very different compensation and expectations. You might be able to double or triple your "effective hourly wages" by finding a employer that has 40 hour work weeks and awards employees for advanced degree. Try a government or regulatory agency...

Old 01-25-2010, 10:23 PM

27 posts, read 110,347 times