Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > World
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-10-2012, 10:35 AM

42 posts, read 67,938 times

Advertisements

Like many others, I've dreamed of living in NYC for quite a while now. I'm starting a freelance business, and so at this point, I'm not sure how much I'll be earning per year. If I end up earning enough to live in and truly enjoy NYC to the fullest, I probably will go for it. But I want to consider other options as well.

Also, as a freelancer, I might be able to fairly easily emigrate to Canada, Europe, et cetera; not quite sure yet, I'm still researching it. So please don't limit your suggestions to American cities.

My criteria:

Must-have:

-Vibrancy. I've been living in the suburbs all my life and yearn for a city full of life and energy.
-Great public transportation/walkability. I don't drive, and I don't plan to.
-At least somewhat mild climate. Four seasons are fine. Snow is fine. I've lived in SoCal my whole life, so I'm actually enchanted by the idea of experiencing seasons instead of almost year-round sunshine. But I don't think I'd do well with extremely cold, long, harsh winters or unbearably sweltering summers.

Important:

-A timeless, unique feel to it. I'm very cinematic and romantic by nature, and I'd prefer to live in a city rich in character.
-Great arts, culture, media, and entertainment scene. I'm not professionally a writer, actor, singer, et cetera...but I am passionate about these hobbies and would like to live in a place where there are plenty of like-minded artistic types.