Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > World
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-06-2010, 03:28 AM

327 posts, read 644,806 times

Advertisements

Hey all, I am a 21 year old male and I am trying to get some info on cities that someone my age would enjoy.

I am currently a contractor in Iraq and plan on doing it for another year or so. I am looking for countries/cities that have American universities so I can finish my studies overseas. Since I have the chance to be my age and making this kind of money I've decided I want to live somewhere else other than the states.

I'm interested in cities with great American schools as mentioned above, but also an affordable cost of living, great nightlife, live music scene, friendly people(I like going out to get some coffee and making a new friend), generally favorable temperatures. I am from Florida so I am used to hot, sticky summers. Somewhere that English is spoken and understood would be great as I learn the countries primary language. I expect immigrants coming to America to learn English and I would expect someone in a country I am moving to to expect me to learn their language. Just common courtesy, in my opinion.

So far I've had a few ideas of places I'd like to live.
Berlin
Edinburgh
Auckland
Perth
Melbourne
Tokyo
Barcelona
Copenhagen
Prague
Stockholm
Shanghai
Hong Kong

If anybody has any experiences with this place and could answer a few of the questions that I have, I would very much appreciate it. There is only so much information that I can find online and I'd much prefer to hear it from the horses mouth.