U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Writing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-13-2010, 08:40 AM

662 posts, read 1,553,416 times

Advertisements

How do you deal with criticism of your work? I'm a tech writer, so I have to deal with it regularly from clients and reviewers in regular review cycles. I don't mind when a sentence is corrected that is technically inaccurate as written, but I hate when people change my excellently constructed sentences with minor edits that are wrong. For example, adding commas where there shouldn't be and removing commas that should be, removing appropriate em dashes just because they don't like the look of a dash, and moving periods and commas outside of closing quotation marks when we've already agreed to use American conventions. Several times I have been asked to cite the Chicago Manual of Style to prove that I'm right. Of course I'm right - I refer to the manual regularly, this is what I do for a living!

However, I've found that I'm my own worst critic. The other day I sent my first email to a new client introducing myself and asking a few questions. In reading back what I'd sent, I discovered a sentence fragment I forgot to delete. HORRORS!! I obsessed about that all day, debating whether to write back and apologize for the error or just let it go hoping he wouldn't notice. I decided not to point it out but am still thinking about it three days later! *sigh*

Anyone have stories to share regarding criticism?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-13-2010, 09:10 AM

21,339 posts, read 63,809,524 times