U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > York and Lancaster Counties
 [Register]
York and Lancaster Counties Rock Hill - Fort Mill - York - Tega Cay - Lancaster
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-12-2010, 11:01 AM

13 posts, read 28,482 times

Advertisements

My husband just got transferred to Charlotte from Philadelphia and we are thinking of living in the Rock Hill area. I am an elementary teacher and have been reading these comments. I see that CMS is not the place to teach and have heard that Union County or York County would be better. I have 18 years of experience and wondered how my chances of getting a job would be for the 2010-2011 school year. I also would like to know if there are any job fairs in the next coming months for either district. Thanks so much for any help you can give me.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-13-2010, 03:51 PM

533 posts, read 1,752,408 times
I don't think the job situation is improving much, but I've worked in UCPS and York as a school counselor and I prefer York! York is broken into 4 school districts, so they are not as big as UCPS which I like. I plan to stay in York. We haven't had any openings this year in my district and they only hired a handful of teachers before the start of this school year. Your best bet is to contact the school districts directly for job outlook. UCPS cancelled their job fair last year due to lack of jobs. York had fairs and I went, but I got my job later on by applying when it came open. Good luck in your search!

Old 02-13-2010, 08:18 PM

10 posts, read 25,298 times