Philadelphia: Municipal Government

Philadelphia city and county are the same entity. The city passed what is widely considered to be the nation's first modern big-city charter in 1951; under this charter the city council was removed from its administrative role and the staff and powers of the mayor were increased. Elections are held every four years, at which time the mayor and seven council members are elected by all the voters and 10 council members are elected by districts. The mayor may serve an unlimited number of terms but not more than two consecutively.

Head Official: Mayor John F. Street (D) (since 2000; current term expires January 2008)

Total Number of City Employees: 30,000 (2005)

City Information: City Hall, Room 215, Philadelphia, PA 19107; telephone (215)686-2250