Warwick: Municipal Government

The city of Warwick functions under the mayor-council form of government, with nine council members elected by and representing the nine city wards. Elections for both the mayor and council members are held every November in even-numbered years, making terms in office two years in duration. The mayor is elected by the general populace of Warwick.

Head Official: Mayor Scott Avedisian (R) (since 2000; current term expires 2006)

Total Number of City Employees: 900 (2005)

City Information: City of Warwick, Warwick City Hall, 3275 Post Road, Warwick, RI 02886; telephone (401)738-2000