Waterbury: Municipal Government

Waterbury operates under a mayor-council form of government. The mayor is elected to two-year terms, as are the 15 aldermen.

Head Official: Mayor Michael J. Jarjura (since 2001; current term expires December 31, 2005)

Total Number of City Employees: 3,560 (2005)

City Information: Mayor's Office, City of Waterbury, 236 Grand Street, Waterbury, CT 06702; telephone (203)574-6712