Marietta: Geography and Climate

Marietta is located north of Atlanta, along the Chattahoochee River. The city is bordered by Lake Allatoona to the northwest, while its southern boundary lies south of Interstate 20. Marietta is part of Cobb County, which is also made up of the cities of Acworth, Austell, Kennesaw, Powder Springs, and Smyrna. Seventy-eight percent of Cobb County's population lives in unincorporated areas. Citizens enjoy four seasons featuring a mild climate where winters seldom go below the thirties and summer highs are in the nineties.

Area: 21.95 square miles (2000)

Elevation: 1,128 feet above sea level

Average Temperatures: January, 41° F; July, 79° F; annual average, 61.2° F

Average Annual Precipitation: 48.61 inches