Memphis: Municipal Government

Since 1966 Memphis has operated via a mayor-council form of government. The thirteen council members serve four-year terms; six are elected at-large, and seven are elected by district.

Head Official: Mayor Willie W. Herenton (D) (since 1992; current term expires 2008)

Total Number of City Employees: 6,680 (2005)

City Information: Memphis City Hall, 125 North Main Street, Memphis, TN 38103-2017; telephone (901)576-6766