Nashville: Municipal Government

Since 1963, when Nashville merged with surrounding Davidson County, Nashville has operated via a consolidated metropolitan mayor-council government. Voters elect 40 council members, 35 of which serve separate districts.

Head Official: Mayor Bill Purcell (D) (since 1999; current term expires 2007)

Total Number of City Employees: approximately 12,000 (2005)

City Information: City of Nashville, 107 Metro Courthouse, Nashville, TN 37201; telephone; (615)862-5000