Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Thread summary:

Possible relocation to Atlanta Georgia, neighborhood selection, close proximity to Target, Wal-Mart, restaurants, whole foods market, Gwinnett County inexpensive homes and explosive growth

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-01-2006, 10:19 AM

30 posts, read 187,139 times

Advertisements

Single female with son under 2, BUT I want to purchase in an area with good schools. I have heard so many good and bad things about several areas. I am a teacher, so its not necessary for me to be close to downtown, but I would like to be close to a Publix, Target, Walmart, resturants and maybe even a Whole Foods Market or Farmers Market. So many people have told me to avoid Dekalb county for working and living. Either the schools or bad, or if they are good, the area is too expensive. Then I started looking in Gwinnett county to live and work. NOW people are telling me that its not diverse (SBF am I) and that there have been some serious race problems in the schools, affecting both teachers and students. That the area is changing, but many of the "older" residents are "fighting" it and are NOT friendly. Is this true? Will my son have to deal with lots of racism in the schools? I have even heard that teachers have had to quit because people were so horrible and racist towards them. Problem is I don't know exactly where they are talking about in Gwinnett county. I am not trying to be all the way out in Bufurd, which seems in the middle of nowhere. I was looking at Lawrenceville, Snellville,