Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-29-2018, 08:54 AM

8,228 posts, read 14,220,959 times

Advertisements

So I've been on a prepaid/wifi account. Never had a data plan. I just switched to ST&T 35.00 a month plan that comes with 1 GB data. It also has some sort of weird streaming thng that they turn on and it stays on unless you turn it off. I read the info and it doesn't sound like it does anything bad if you leave it on? IDK.

Now I freely admit I'm not good with my smartphone. Everyso often it would be trying to go out on data and I would have trouble getting it back to wifi. Sometimes I can't get a number to dial.

So I'm hoping some kind persons would be able to give me some tips about how not to waste my 1GB data. Mostly I'm a homebody and my wifi is great. I only missed having a data pllan when I was on the road.
Is there an easy way to switch back and forth or not have my data out there being used up just on or whatever? Without confusing my phone and giving me fits when I want it on wifi and it insists on using data like in the past when I didn't have data?

I have a Samsung Note 5.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-29-2018, 09:15 AM

16,548 posts, read 19,703,819 times
Just be mindful of using data when out and about. Don't watch videos which is the largst consumer of data.
You should have an ATT app on your phone and you should be able to configure it to warn you when you are reaching your data cap.