Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Where should I go?
Seattle 18 32.73%
Denver 8 14.55%
Minneapolis 21 38.18%
Somewhere else? 8 14.55%
Voters: 55. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-04-2014, 03:33 PM

3 posts, read 5,899 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone! I am a 23 year old currently living in Las Vegas who is seeking a change.

Some facts:

I'm a cosmetologist and a writer.

I plan to move by 2016/2017.

I like being near water.

I am a highly socially progressive individual.

I enjoy cultural/ethnic diversity.

I like having a car, but not when I have no other choice to get around and am practically a slave to my car, if that makes sense.

I would prefer to be somewhere where there's a wide variety of day trip/weekend getaway options.

Given those facts, which would be the best place for me?

Based on research I've done:

Seattle

Pros: Close to water, mild climate year round, progressive, appears to be very live and let live
Cons: Expensive housing prices (I don't want to have to spend more than $900 on a one bedroom, but I wouldn't be adverse to living in a suburb close to city), seems to attract a rather smug crowd,

Denver

Pros: Also a generally mild climate, reasonable housing prices, on the come-up
Cons: Seems pretty isolated and lacking in day/weekend trip options, the only local water feature appears to be a river (better than nothing but I like bays, seas and lakes better)

Minneapolis