Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-13-2019, 08:56 PM

5 posts, read 6,464 times

Advertisements

I’m a musician looking for somewhere with a great music scene, and a lot of musicians. There are hardly any musicians or venues where I live now. I’m looking for somewhere where it’s easy to meet other musicians to play with and where there are a lot of venues to play. I’m considering Nashville, Minneapolis and Chicago. How do these music scenes compare to each other, and what other cities would you recommend? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-13-2019, 09:12 PM

5,016 posts, read 3,912,172 times
Nashville, Austin, Atlanta, LA, New York, Chicago, in no particular order.

If you're classically trained, I'd add Boston and Philadelphia to that list.

Old 12-13-2019, 09:54 PM

438 posts, read 376,335 times
I work in music PR and work with a lot of musicians around the US. I would say this greatly depends on what your preferred style, genre, and financial situation is; some places will lean more towards a particular scene than others. It's also important to know your strengths and where your commitment level is. If your looking to simply play part time or casually play shows, but have no further game plan then your satisfaction in one city will be different from someone searching for a place to establish their career and look at getting music actually pushed out on a professional scale.

Here are my thoughts on the cities you picked: