Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Colorado Springs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-19-2007, 10:04 PM

6 posts, read 95,256 times

Advertisements

This is my situation:

I graduated from college in May with a BS in Business, option in accounting. My grades were reasonably good. Right after graduation, I packed up my car and moved here to Colorado Springs. My fiancee lives here, and although I am from out of state, we both decided that this city was the ideal place to start our lives together.

I am having absolutely no luck finding a truly entry level accounting position anywhere nearby. My only real criteria is that a job would give me accounting experience, and be full time. I have hit the paradox of "No job without experience", and I have no idea where to look further. I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE. Only a degree I worked very hard for, and now appears to be useless.

I would honestly prefer to start out in public accounting, but I am willing to consider a job anywhere. I have sent out resumes, registered with Accountemps and other staffing agencies, and made dozens of phone calls. I rarely get a response to emails, or even a real person on the phone.

If anyone has any advice, I would be very much obliged. I am really hoping that moving here was not a mistake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-21-2007, 10:11 AM

147 posts, read 627,467 times