Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-31-2014, 09:00 AM

342 posts, read 799,653 times

Advertisements

My family and I have been looking to move to TX for about a year now. I am a teacher and my wife is in public health. My job is the harder of the two to come across (pay difference, years invested) so once I find a job her transition will be easier.
I have applied for 7 DFW area H/PE teaching jobs in the last year and have not even received an interview call. I have 14 years experience, Coach multiple sports, Have all AED/CPR/Lifesaving training, A masters degree, Spotless record, Technology teacher of the year awards, Great references, Honors GPA from undergrad and grad school, Supervise student teachers, K-12 certifications and a lifetime permanent certification.
Is it nothing more than not wanting to pay someone a masters equivalent or do they see I am from out of state and completely disregard?
Just curious because I know if I received one interview I would land the job hands down. Just looking for opinions as I am getting frustrated with the job prospects in the great state of TX.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-31-2014, 01:40 PM

3,086 posts, read 7,621,194 times
It's very challenging to land a teaching job when you are not local, especially in areas where the schools have so many candidates to choose from.