Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House > Home Interior Design and Decorating
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-12-2013, 05:07 AM

45 posts, read 71,109 times

Advertisements

Hi guys I'm a realtor and have been working out of my home and broker's office for a couple years until now and I'm looking for some help designing my first personal office. I moved my stuff in and thought I'd be set up in no time but I want to make it feel great and honestly I am stuck.

The room is 11'3" x 10'9" with a door and an east facing in line on opposite walls. The carpet trim and is a light muted blue-gray.

I want it to feel modern yet simplistic. I want it to be easy to organize and get all my odds and ends either out of site (cabinets?) or neatly displayed (shelves? cabinet/shelving mix?) I like the 'idea' of Feng shui but have no idea how to make it 'feel better' without some guidance.

More notes:

- I'd like to design with the possibility of meeting with clients in my office in mind, however, normally it is a personal workspace and I work in the field showing homes to buyers and meeting with seller's at their homes, normally I use a conference room for an office meeting which I still can. (hence working at home for 3 years now).

- I am willing to spend up to $400-500 at Ikea to buy some new things, would prefer to keep costs down where possible.