Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House > Home Interior Design and Decorating
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-11-2018, 05:09 PM

5,663 posts, read 10,736,130 times

Advertisements

I'm a real estate agent but definitely not a designer. My buyers are building a home and have decided on a wood-look tile for the first floor. I'd describe the tile as a light or blonde oak-looking tile with dark or black "grain" lines. Ideally, they want the tiles to be spaced with almost no grout lines but the builder won't do it that way so they are probably looking at 3/16" lines. They are sweating out the grout color. They want it to look as realistic as possible so should they do their best to match the "wood color", go with the lightest color on the tile, or should they go with a medium color or even the darkest color on the tile?

I know there's no right answer but I'm interested in informed opinions. The cabs will be an espresso color and the counters will be a light color if it helps. What do you think?

This might help..http://www.city-data.com/forum/membe...259-grouts.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-12-2018, 07:42 AM

17,472 posts, read 66,002,677 times
With the "look" they want, I'd match the grout to the wood color as close as possible. Any other shades will enhance the shape of the individual tiles giving it the "tiled floor" look.

Personally, I wouldn't use that particular type of tile. I feel it's too trendy/fadish. For a bathroom- OK, the whole house/1st floor- no way.

Old 12-12-2018, 08:55 AM

7,244 posts, read 7,066,230 times