Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Legal Immigration
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-05-2011, 12:20 PM

8 posts, read 24,083 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I am from Western Europe and I am considering immigrating to California (San Francisco or San Diego) or Australia (Sydney or Melbourne). I am an IT engineer. My question is which would be in your opinion the most appropriate choice. My criteria are nice weather, good quality of life, career opportunities, fair/low taxes , good social life, commute time, etc.

I have already collected some information and high level metrics on these countries (tax levels, gdp/capita, debt, etc.) and I would like to complement it with the experience you might have (especially from people that have stayed in both places). Any reasonable advice is welcome as well.

Please don't turn this into a debate of US vs Australia !

Thanks in advance for your insights.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-05-2011, 07:44 PM

271 posts, read 1,236,819 times
Taxes will be about the same, but in Australia you get services such as health coverage for your money. In CA it just costs a lot, for nothing.

I find Australia a mix between old fashioned England and Canada. You will have an easier life in Australia.

Old 01-05-2011, 08:14 PM

1,422 posts, read 2,303,650 times
Both have pros and cons.

I would agree with jinj that healthcare is a big issue.

As a fellow European I find the health care system here in the States exorbitantly expensive, terrible value for money and, overall, a fiasco.