Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-22-2010, 06:21 PM

8 posts, read 64,085 times

Advertisements

I am curious if anyone has installed residential solar panels. If yes, how is your experience? Any issues? Is it worth the investment?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-23-2010, 04:35 AM

2,309 posts, read 6,104,814 times
I studied this to death. It doesn't even come close to being cost effective or have the ability to operate a house. If all you're looking to do is power a couple of lights and maybe a TV then it could do it. It wouldn't be cost effective though.

To power a regular house including oven, cooktop, water heater, dryer, and heat pump would require several acres of panels and a huge battery bank. The cost would probably be well over $100,000 and after a few years it would require regular, expensive maintenance.

Now if you were to use natural gas or propane as your main energy source the cost of the system would come down significantly since all you would need electricity for would be things like TVs, clocks, lights, etc. You would still have to power the heat pump with electricity but you could have gas as the supplemental heat instead of a electric heat strip. But then you would be subject to the sometimes wild fluctuations in gas prices.

At this time the best thing you can do is to replace your electric appliances with gas as your electric appliances wear out. It is not cost effective to replace perfectly functioning electric appliances with gas appliances.