Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-10-2009, 07:08 AM

7 posts, read 22,878 times

Advertisements

i have been paying rent every month for almost 3 years.
the most recent rent payment was due on 3/1 but i have not been able to pay due to my financial issues.
yesterday, the landlord came and asked me to pay the rent but i had no other choice but to tell him that i had no money at the time.
this morning, he came again and i told him the same thing. i had to get ready to go to work but he stayed outside the door and kept on banging on the door for 10 minutes or so. i told him that i would send him the payment by 3/25 (thats when i will have the money) but he said that was not acceptable and would give me until today to pay the rent.
it seems like he will be calling me every evening and coming over every morning, and it is going to cause so much stress on me and my family.
i know it is not fair for him not getting the payment on time but i am just not able to make the payment until 3/25.
can my landlord keep calling and coming everyday? what can i do about it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-10-2009, 07:11 AM

831 posts, read 2,438,240 times
Do you have a lease? Doesn't it say there is a late charge if you pay late? His fear is if you pay March 1st rent on March 25 then what about April 1st rent check.

Old 03-10-2009, 07:14 AM

2,312 posts, read 7,527,415 times