Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-06-2009, 06:54 AM

3 posts, read 7,843 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone. I'm a 21 year old grad student about to start business school this January. Can anyone give me some much needed advice on where to find affordable housing on the Upper West Side? I have housing now due to subsidized dorms provided by the school but after December I will be on my own.

I currently don't have income, because I haven't graduated from undergrad yet (I'm on one of those 5-year BS/MBA plans). Right now I'm pulling in $1200/month from 2 part time jobs that are NOT SECURE.

I also have bad credit (partly due to an extremely immature lack of good judgement when I was 18, and partly due to an on-going billing dispute with my phone company). I have about $11,000 saved from part time jobs over the years. So I'm pretty sure I'll get turned down everywhere for rent.

I already checked Craigslist and noticed it's full of scammers (especially the renters claiming no-credit checks). Does anyone know where I can find a place on the west side for about $600-$800? And also credit-check friendly? Does anyone offer weekly payments?

Also, a friend said he needed a place as well. We were thinking about getting a one-bedroom to save money and converting it into 2. Anyone know the best way to go about that?

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-06-2009, 08:12 AM

10,655 posts, read 18,665,293 times