Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Politics and Other Controversies
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-03-2018, 05:27 PM

5,865 posts, read 3,307,126 times

Advertisements

As a former police officer I have to say its no big deal. We always called ourselves police officers. Never policemen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-03-2018, 05:30 PM

19,029 posts, read 14,236,593 times
GENDER NEUTRALITY IS FAUX OUTRAGE OVER NONSENSE
In English a general noun, like man, includes both sexes, whereas the feminine form is exclusively female.
Actor = male and female; Actress = female only
Hunter = male and female; Huntress = female only
Hero = male and female; Heroine = female only
More pairs:
Author: authoress
Conductor: conductress
Emperor : empress
God : goddess
Count : countess
Heir: heiress
Host : hostess
Murderer : murderess
Poet : poetess
Waiter : waitress

TELL THE LEFT TO SHOVE THEIR FAUX OUTRAGE - - -

Old 05-03-2018, 05:34 PM

10,681 posts, read 6,126,392 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetgraphics View Post
In English a general noun, like man, includes both sexes, whereas the feminine form is exclusively female.
More pairs:

Seriously, you guys are really losing your sh* over nothing. Grab a beer or something lol..

Old 05-03-2018, 05:39 PM

18,983 posts, read 9,096,161 times
Quote:
More pairs:
Firefighter: firefighter
Police officer: police officer
Spokesperson: spokesperson

Wow, you're right. The world is going to end if we use those terms instead!

Quote: