Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-09-2019, 07:02 AM

11,230 posts, read 9,328,763 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlaLadyB View Post
Excuse me? I'm a REALTOR over 30 years and certainly not in the EAST since I'm in FLORIDA .. as it says on my info.

I would not have a client purchase a house without an inspection of some kind....never have
Florida's not in the East? When did they move it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-09-2019, 08:35 AM

599 posts, read 499,042 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackmichigan View Post

A cautionary note: some contracts with inspectors limit damages to the cost of the inspection.
Have you actually seen a victimized homeowner recover any worthwhile damages from an incompetent home inspector? Enough to even cover the victim's legal fees. I have not. I ask this since, as a custom homebuilder, occasional independent inspector, and paid witness in home defect lawsuits, I have dealt with some of the many clowns who hang a shingle claiming that they are "professional home inspectors". My experience, and the information from the litigators I have worked with, is that an inspection contract is well written to protect the inspector, no matter how incompetent or corrupt they may be, and makes any meaningful recovery essentially impossible.

Old 09-09-2019, 08:55 AM

768 posts, read 859,911 times