Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 09:00 PM

6,233 posts, read 9,480,601 times

Advertisements

Hi!

I'm a new graduate who's been subbing, and have noticed a disturbingly large amount of burnt out teachers. They seem like they once had a passion, but now they're either jaded or simply "don't mind" they're job. Many older ones seem to be just counting the days till retirement. As someone who wants to be a teacher, I find this VERY unsettling.

So I was wondering, all you teachers out there, if you could do it all over again, would you still have gone into teaching? Why or why not?

Mackinac.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-22-2008, 10:39 PM

574 posts, read 2,045,135 times
This will be my 26th year and I love working with the children. I feel a tremendous sense of accomplishment every time a child looks up at me as if the "light has clicked on", says, "I love you teacher" or a parent writes a letter to thank you for what you have done. I love watching their little faces light up when I introduce something new and exciting. I love working with parents, most of whom are very supportive and helpful and I have to admit, I also love my summer break. However the following things make teaching very difficult and stressful: