Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > District of Columbia > Washington, DC
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-26-2010, 07:56 AM

3 posts, read 4,020 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I'm an attorney who is considering pursuing a federal government job and relocating to the DC area. I've read a lot of posts about cost of living and various neighborhoods, but it's been hard to glean advice that applies to my situation.

I'm married with 2 young kids. If I'm looking for a 3 BR home (or if I dare to dream, 4 BR) in the low to mid $300s range, are my choices pretty much limited to living way outside of DC proper (Fairfax County, Silver Springs, or even farther out)? If so, does this gaurantee me a 2 hour commute every day? Schools will be a big consideration, as well. I'd appreciate any advice you can provide.

Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-26-2010, 08:34 AM

5,412 posts, read 4,239,885 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jibr12 View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm an attorney who is considering pursuing a federal government job and relocating to the DC area. I've read a lot of posts about cost of living and various neighborhoods, but it's been hard to glean advice that applies to my situation.