Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-06-2015, 08:08 AM

2,695 posts, read 3,491,723 times

Advertisements

Which is better career path? Simply chasing the money every 3-5 years OR staying at a company a while and working your way up.

here is some background:

30 years old
Construction industry (heavy highway)
Current position is Project Engineer
Work for a large, well established company
MBA

I work in the construction industry (management side) and jumping around is almost common place. However, I DO NOT want to be stuck in my current role forever, which I fear might have happen if I do jump around. I want my career path to go like this Project Engineer --> Project Manager --> Project Executive --> VP/P Construction. Of Course, this is over a LONG period of time, but the end goal is the same. I didn't spend 3 years of my life getting a MBA for the fun of it.

I love the company I work for. They treat me well, they are doing very well financially and I recently been awarded a promotion. However, the pay could be better (as always) but I do ok (30 years old own a home and two cars so I can't complain).

The question is, is the short term goal of making 10% more worth the risk of leaving a company that I might be able to work my way up through the ranks?

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-06-2015, 08:18 AM

2,294 posts, read 2,780,760 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_250 View Post