Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-31-2016, 01:36 AM

6 posts, read 3,679 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone!

I'm 25 years old, and I graduated with a BA in education two years ago in order to be a teacher. I had worked in classrooms and decided this is what I wanted to do in my freshman year. As I got ready to graduate, I started questioning this decision, but just went with it since I was basically about to graduate. I enrolled in my student teaching and absolutely hated it. I had many issues in my program, and decided to drop out after 3 months so I wasn't throwing all my money away. I took a lot of time working a desk job to decide if I wanted to try another program, or just find something different. I decided that I have no desire to teach in the public school system ( I'm in California), and after talking with several friends who are teaching, I stand by this decision. So, now, I'm trying to figure out what I should do. I considered being an academic advisor at the university level, however, most of them require a masters and the pay is quite low.

I have a lot of interests. I love nature, animals, environmental sciences, history, nutrition, and I do still like working with older students in an educational setting.

Some of the top career changes that have come to mind: geologist, registered dietician, academic advisor, speech pathologist, and school counselor.

Problems that come to mind: