Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-31-2015, 06:57 AM

3 posts, read 3,247 times

Advertisements

I am a high school teacher, currently living in New York, considering a move to Austin. I'm looking for some insight on what it's like to teach in the Austin Independent School District and how many hoops I'll have to go through to transition my teaching credential. Is there anyone on here who has made a similar move?
Some background on me: I'm a second year in the New York City Teaching Fellows program. I'm a Math fellow and I just completed by Master's in Secondary Mathematics Education. I currently teach in a public high school and I'm certified under the transitional B license. To get my initial certification, I still need to complete the edTPA and take a couple CLEP exams to satisfy my credit deficiencies. But I estimate I should have fulfilled all those requirements by March/April. Knowing the bureaucracy of the NY State DOE, I estimate it will take another 6-8 weeks for my documents to be processed, meaning I anticipate having the actual credential in hand no later than June.