Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Baltimore
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-02-2010, 12:24 AM

4 posts, read 8,099 times

Advertisements

Hello all!

This is my first time using city-data, so please bear with me.

My best friend and I are two female 20somethings who graduated from an arts college in Seattle. We've been here for 6 years and are ready for a change.

We're considering moving to Baltimore because neither of us have ever lived there (I'm from Detroit, she's from Seattle) and we're both intrigued by what we've been hearing.

So I guess I'll start with my questions:

Which neighborhoods should we look at? I've heard good things about Mt Vernon. We're both *****, very artsy and looking for a place to meet new, likeminded people. We have one car between us, so walkability is necessary. Safety is, of course, a concern. But we're both used to the general rules of living in an urban environment.

We currently live on Capitol Hill in Seattle, to give you an idea of what we're used to (if you've been here, that is).

How easy is it to find employment in an artistic field? Internships, major galleries, art organizations, etc...

What are the most exciting/experimental things happening in the arts community in your city?

Do you have any good vegetarian joints?

On Capitol Hill, in Seattle, our 1 bedroom apartments rent for about 900-1100/mo. How do Baltimore neighborhoods differ?

Thanks SO MUCH in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-02-2010, 01:33 PM

1,757 posts, read 5,137,227 times