Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Baltimore
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-01-2007, 07:52 PM

2 posts, read 11,211 times

Advertisements

hello All

I am new in Owings Mills, MD and i need to commute to Alexandria VA.for my job. Is there any suggestion. I was checking MARC tain, it does not go to Alexandria directly. Please if some one help me. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-01-2007, 09:01 PM

1,973 posts, read 6,805,637 times
Default I feel sorry for you

I'm afraid there is no easy way to do. You could patch something together but it would take hours. Like Owings Mills by Metro to Camden Station, then MARC to Union Station , Metro to Alexandria. But your job probably would be nowhere near a Metro stop.
Commuting by car is a nightmare. It's one of the worst commutes imaginable. You have to navigate the D.C. beltway during peak hours and then the notorious Wilson Bridge.
A neighbor of mine (Cheswolde, near Mount Washington) tried to do it by car. He ended up renting a room somewhere and stays overnight there three nights a week.
If your job is good and lating and your situation in Owings Mills flexibile, I would strongly advise moving.

Old 11-01-2007, 09:16 PM

72 posts, read 448,319 times
I suggest you drive to the Halethorpe MARC station, and then take MARC to Union Station. Metro in to Alexandria from there. Hopefully your job isn't that far from a DC metro station. I'd also suggest you leave early since the traffic on 695 gets pretty bad moving in that direction during rush hour.

Old 01-16-2009, 06:05 AM