Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-09-2011, 09:49 PM

2 posts, read 5,223 times

Advertisements

Will work in cambridge close to MITsoon, but I'm completely new to Boston area, so, would like your suggestion/comments.
I (and my wife) have 2 kids, one will go to kindergarten this fall, and one just 2 year old. So, our top priority is to look for an area with a very good public school system. (Probably cannot afford to private school). The second priority would be the residence: we want to live in a family-friendly community; Our budge probably won't go beyond $500k, if we want a 3-bedroom family house , do you think it's doable? or renting would be a better option? The third priority would be commuting distance, I'd rather utilize public transportation, but driving would be an option, and the commuting time would be within an hour (less would be plus) one way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-10-2011, 01:17 AM

5,816 posts, read 15,915,325 times
Based on the criteria you've specified, here are a few places to consider:

Arlington: schools not necessarily in the very top tier, but have a solid reputation; right next to Cambridge; from neighborhoods close to Mass. Avenue you can commute by bus to the Alewife station in Cambridge, where you can transfer to the red line and travel a few stops to the MIT stop.