Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-31-2008, 06:51 PM

7 posts, read 40,272 times

Advertisements

I am new to Charlotte and looking to buy a single family home in South Charlotte. I am really torn as to whether I should buy a house in Reavencrest subdivision (Ballantyne area) or Willowmere (off Providence & Mckee road). The homes in both locations were built by Pulte and roughly of the same 2500 sq ft area.

I would really appreciate it if somebody could give me a better insight into the differences in the quality of the neighbourhood, appreciation rates and safety between Reavencrest & Willowmere. Any information would be highly appreciated. Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-31-2008, 06:57 PM

797 posts, read 3,294,972 times
Several years ago, we looked at both. We bought a house in Reavencrest and lived there for 2 years (just moved out end of last year). I think it's a much better location as it was 2 min from the interstate and we had 2 targets within 2 miles and having Blakeney and Stonecrest shopping center right near it was great. Willomere is a little more secluded. Plus the house appreciated like crazy! We didn't do anything to the house and in 2 years made $70k. We had several offers on it withing a couple days of it being listed. I think the neighborhood is very popular due to it being so central to tons of stuff.
Reavencrest is a newer neighborhood than Willomere. When they finished Willomere, they started Reavencrest.