Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-24-2011, 12:17 AM

158 posts, read 239,873 times

Advertisements

ok, this is hard but i will try to make this brief..due to a death in the family, i had to move back home, i live in texas near houston, but not close enough to commute. I have a degree in history and I have been looking for a job here that will help pay the bills. I have not been able to find anything but retail. It has gotten to be very discouraging, dealing with rude people that throw money at me or tell me off has made me reach my limit. When I moved back, i lost everything, my apartment, my friends and my car broke down. Now, because of everything, i will be getting a new car and maybe some spending money of 2k. At this point, i do not know what to do. I can either finish my certification in history(which will be cheaper) and try to get my masters in education(its done 100% online at my college) or I can try to get a bachelors in business and see where that goes. I do not want to make a mistake and i need a career. Working retail with a bachelors in history to me is unacceptable. My concerns are these:

1. Right now, funding has been cut and while i have been looking for a teaching job, there are almost no positions available. I do like the schedule teachers have but i feel i wont make any "good money" unless i have my masters and i am an assistant principal(they make 70k here)