Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-31-2011, 06:52 AM

3 posts, read 8,096 times

Advertisements

I’m new to home ownership and was wondering what the laws are (if any) regarding maintaining old trees and the responsibility for damage and cleanup/removal.
I had a tree down in my front yard which I got removed on Sunday paying a hefty price but I see a lot of trees/branches down around in the neighborhood and not everyone seems to be concerned about a fallen tree in their yard or one that went over in their neighbor’s. I guess the answers that I’m looking for are:
Who is responsible for a tree that is likely to topple over in a storm? We have big wooded lots so the tree might be far away from my home but can easily hit my neighbor’s roof if it fell down. Same situation is with my neighbor on the north side. She has huge oaks lined up that are far away from her home but can easily rip through mine if they ever fall over.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-31-2011, 07:47 AM

3,435 posts, read 3,948,073 times
The answer is, it depends. If your tree falls on your neighbor's property, you can be held liable if you were negligent in maintaining the tree. Since this is a very fact specific determination, each situation will be unique. As a rule of thumb, however, you will be liable if it was apparent that the tree was diseased or compromised and should have been removed.