Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2013, 10:23 AM

9 posts, read 33,805 times

Advertisements

I'd like to get views from those who have moved from Greenwich to New Canaan (NC), or vice versa. The two towns are often thought of as similar, and in many ways they are however I considered the two towns quite different. I'm not commuting to the city now but may have to in the future if my Stamford job disappears. I've been renting in Greenwich for 5 years and now want to buy. I'd like any insight on:

- How difficult was the commute adjustment - assuming commuting into the city to work in mid-town. Commute times are about 12 minutes longer compared to Old Greenwich and 22 minutes longer compared to downtown greenwich. But there are fewer direct trains from NC, and traveling at off-peak times involves changing at Stamford.

- New Canaan is quite a lot smaller and has more of a small town feel. The population is less diverse. Did this take some getting used to?

- Greenwich has options for evening entertainment, NC is getting better but still the options are more limited.

- New Canaan schools seem much better, I'm using the public school system.

- In Greenwich (or Darien), any house for around $1m seems to have serious issues or is on a busy road or has road noise. Whereas in NC there are some other options.

- House prices in Greenwich have really popped, whereas in NC I think the increase has been more steady and potentially more upside to come.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message