U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-28-2009, 01:24 PM
 
Location: NC
137 posts, read 621,424 times
Reputation: 101

Advertisements

I purchased a $20 Phillips antenna. Which picks up several channels however each channel will freeze and pause briefly, this makes watching TV difficult. I have tried the antenna in different directions and I live in an urban area outside Raleigh.

I just cannot understand know why the channels won't come in clear all the time? Do you think the television service providers are blocking the signal so I have to pay for basic cable?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 03-01-2009, 06:56 AM
 
10,764 posts, read 18,137,408 times
Reputation: 10257
OTA providers do not block their own signals. What model is it? Have you checked for any online reviews of your antenna to see if it might have any inherent problems? That's pretty much rule 1 for me when buying new stuff, see what others say about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-01-2009, 10:28 AM
 
Location: Beaverland, OR
588 posts, read 2,594,926 times
Reputation: 465
Go to AntennaWeb, type in your address, and see how far away you are from the TV transmitter towers for the Raleigh-Durham area. This website will also tell you exactly which way to face your antenna for optimum reception of each channel. It may be that you need a bigger antenna, or a higher mount. If there are lots of obstructions (buildings, hills, etc.) between you and the transmitter towers, you may have problems unless you can mount then antenna really high.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-01-2009, 11:55 AM
 
2,547 posts, read 6,565,086 times
Reputation: 2315
Thank you for information,at our location no one uses outdoor antenna,all dish or direct.According to site we could get about 15 channels.I will do some checking,right now I pay for locals 90 miles west which are not relevant to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-01-2009, 01:45 PM
 
Location: sowf jawja
1,940 posts, read 8,340,929 times
Reputation: 1042
you're having signal problems. I purchased an antenna that rotates because I had the same problem as you, and certain stations have to be "dialed in" just right sometimes.

you may need to ditch those rabbit ears and put something larger in the attic or outside of your home.


i have an antenna called the hdview360; its made by antennacraft and is an outdoor antenna. its only about 20" in diameter, and looks like a little flying saucer. its a small amplified rotating antenna and may work well for you too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-02-2009, 12:13 PM
 
Location: Timonium, MD
41 posts, read 144,980 times
Reputation: 27
I have a uni-directional VHF antenna on a rotater and multi-directional UHF antenna(both are outside). I get a pretty good signal but there are times when the signal goes out.

With digital signals(1s and 0s) any noise in the signal can cause the picture to pause or go out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-04-2009, 11:06 AM
 
Location: Somewhere in northern Alabama
18,760 posts, read 55,965,315 times
Reputation: 33067

YouTube - Coat Hanger HDTV Antenna!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-09-2009, 02:06 PM
 
703 posts, read 2,665,661 times
Reputation: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by RT85 View Post
I have a uni-directional VHF antenna on a rotater and multi-directional UHF antenna(both are outside). I get a pretty good signal but there are times when the signal goes out.

With digital signals(1s and 0s) any noise in the signal can cause the picture to pause or go out.

Heck, I've even noticed that depending on how close I get to my TV when I'm on my cell phone, I would experience picture pauses and 'signal lost'. This even happens with my laptop is pointing a certain way towards the tv picking up my apt's wifi. I've got a LCD HDTV plugged into an amplified indoor antenna (located next to the TV) for OTA HD signals only.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2020, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top