Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-08-2007, 05:39 AM

7 posts, read 24,560 times

Advertisements

Hi Y'all,

I've been browsing these forums for a good 6 months now and just registered.
I pretty much have a job offer to go to Texas (Dallas) - to work for a small computer consulting company - I currently work for a well established, world known company up here in Canada and I am hesitent to leave comfort of that.

But here's the thing...I've always been intrigued by Texas - I'm a college football nut which is why I think I would fit in really good down there, I love Dr. Pepper, prefer hot weather over cold, and I LOVE the house prices + I am single so the prospects of meeting a beautiful girl with southern hospitality is very much a draw for me

Where I live now, the house prices are starting to rise (its already more $$$ here for the same house in Texas - realtor.com), not a lot going on here as far as activities, people are OK - not too many college football fans around here...the other thing that is keeping me here is that my aging parents live a couple of hours away and are soon going to need me to start taking care of them...

..but I am wondering if I am selling myself short by staying here and not moving to Texas - because the window of opportunity is getting smaller where this job offer may no longer be on the table...give me your thoughts...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-08-2007, 05:48 AM

I forgot to mention that I am a 27 year old male...