Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-14-2009, 11:50 AM

93 posts, read 422,539 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone!

I am a 23yr old college grad that has recently accepted a job in the Arts and Financial District of Dallas. More specifically, I will be working at the Sheraton Dallas at 400 Olive St. in the downtown area.

I currently live in Phoenix, but obviously, I plan on relocating to Dallas. I am somewhat familiar with the city, but I do have a few questions...

1. My rent maximum is $550. per month for either a studio or 1 bed apt. What are some safe, clean areas, close to nightlife and shopping and no more than 20 miles away from where I will be working?

2. A friend of mine suggested Arlington, but it seems kinda far from that area although it does seem to be a pretty safe area with a good value for rent. So if I lived in Arlington close to the I-30 fwy, about how long would it take to get to downtown Dallas?

3. Where are the "happening" areas of Dallas? What areas are the most restaurant's, shops and nightlife concentrated in? Where do most of the 20-40yr olds hang out at?

Again, I am looking for a place that I can find a good value on an apt, close to nightlife and shopping and (hopefully) no more than a 30 minute drive from where I will be working at 400 Olive St. Schools are irrelevant to me as I do not have children and if possible, I'd like to be in an area that has, and caters to young professionals rather than families with small children.