Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Dental Health
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-13-2009, 09:28 AM

350 posts, read 4,157,958 times

Advertisements

I am relatively new to my area, so after moving away from my dentist of 27 years, I had to find a new dentist. I have seen 4 dentists in this area, in an attempt to find a good dentist I trust. They are all considered top dentists via various sources.

I had full mouth exams with all of them, with no x-rays.

I have not had a cavity in 15 years, so I was surprised when two of them said I had a cavity in a particular tooth.

But the other two said I had no cavities. How is this possible that dentists can disagree on what is a cavity or what is not? They all have between 10 and 40 years of experience as dentists.

Should I get a fifth opinion? After my recent horrible experience with dental work, I am hesitant to get this filled if there is such disagreement on what it is. One dentist said the "cavity" was tiny and shallow and that I wouldn't even need novacaine to fill it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-13-2009, 11:51 AM

479 posts, read 1,455,586 times
I'm surprised you didn't get xrays. That's the first or second thing they usually require. But I know what you mean about dentists...I also decided to find one in the town where I live. After this little experience I'll be looking for another one. Some are really big on sales pitches and I don't need or want that.

Old 07-13-2009, 01:18 PM

8,411 posts, read 39,254,763 times