Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Detroit
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-24-2010, 01:58 PM

221 posts, read 485,141 times

Advertisements

Actually, I want to move back to Oakland County.

Alittle background info. about me...

I'm a 28 year old single male. I'm originally from Ann Arbor, MI (born and raised). I graduated from Lawrence Technological University (in Southfield, MI) in 2006 with a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering. I've worked a couple of professional jobs. I've moved around alot in these last four years, I guess since I never allowed myself the opportunity to travel and explore new areas. I'm currently living in Kansas City, MO (after a 2 year stint in Wichita), and I'm really starting to miss my home area.

So, has there been any improvements in the Michigan economy at all? The main reason why I'm not back in Michigan right now, is due to my concern over the ecnonomy, and my chances of being able to make a living. I spent my last three years of college (out of 6 total) in Southfield for school, and I really like that area, which is why Oakland County is my preference. I like what OC offers as well as it's proximity to Detroit proper.

I've lived in alot of places: Philadelphia, washington, DC, Los Angeles, very very short stint in San Francisco, Wichita, and now Kansas City, MO, and as nice as some of these places are, there's no place like home. I don't have to do engineering, though I want a professional job that pays decent. I've picked up various skills in the jobs that I have worked in the past.