Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-19-2013, 03:10 PM

3,322 posts, read 7,968,123 times

Advertisements

So I'm 28, graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Social Sciences (kinda useless, I know). I've been working full time for little over 5 years now in the insurance industry (underwriting and claims). As I'm not a newbie anymore, companies want continued education certifications to show you are invested and committed. I tried a class, read the entire book and straight up failed the test. I'm an audio learner and reading a book as the only source is extremely difficult for me. I've never been a reader, always a lecture type of student. They don't offer classes and the online stuff from what I've been told is useless and not worth the extra money.

More importantly, I feel like I'm dumbing myself down to fit in. I'm always way faster than everyone else and able to interpret work much easier. With all three jobs I've had, my training was about half as long as everyone elses since I didn't need as much time. Plus, insurance is really boring and I'd like to see how a different industry goes.

I want to do something where I don't need to dumb myself down and/or stay under the radar so I don't get the wrong type of attention. I've been thinking sales (not sure what type) is a good route. I figure telling people you don't have coverage and/or you are at fault for accident then arguing with them about it is probably harder than giving a hard sell.