Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 10:58 PM

2 posts, read 3,051 times

Advertisements

I am a sophmore student in Virginia looking to study abroad this fall. I have choices between London and Sydney and was just trying to find some third party advice. I am very active, so definitely want a place with a lot to do. Im in a fraternity so nightlife would be a plus. And overall a pretty place that would be enjoyable for 6 months. Please give me any information or suggestions. Thanks!!

Tommy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-14-2010, 11:38 PM

4,796 posts, read 22,906,689 times
Personally I would choose London.

When asked to describe a country that they are most like, most Australians will say the United States. There are certainly some differences, but there are a lot of similarities.

London will also give you more opportunity to absorb the culture. Sydney has some public transit but it isn't that efficient and most residents find they need a car to meet at least some of their needs. Getting out of Sydney to visit other places like Melbourne or Perth will be expensive and time-consuming. It is a huge continent and like the United States, their inefficient train system is slow and tedious for the traveller. Most travelers rely on planes, just like American's do. London by contrast has an efficient public transit system that will allow you to explore every corner of the city, and beyond, with relative convenience and little cost.

Old 02-15-2010, 06:42 AM