Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-06-2011, 06:29 PM

30 posts, read 109,832 times

Advertisements

I am a self-employed computer consultant and I am planning to move to Florida, in part because of the lower taxes. I see that there is something called a Tangible Property Tax that I might be exposed to if I incorporate, but the information I found on it is spotty and vague, which makes me wonder if anyone actually pays this (on anything other than a building). If I work from a home office, am I supposed to pay yearly taxes on the value of my computer, printer, desk, office chair, etc.?

Below is what the Florida Department of Revenue says, which is rather obscure to me.

FL Dept Rev - Tangible Personal Property

Quote:
Tangible Personal Property (TPP), as defined in 192.001(11)(d), Florida Statutes, means all goods, chattels, and other articles of value (but does not include vehicular items) capable of manual possession and whose chief value is intrinsic to the article itself. Inventory and household goods are expressly excluded from this definition.

Anyone owning tangible personal property on January 1, who has a proprietorship, partnership, corporation, is a self-employed agent or a contractor, must file a tangible personal property return to the Property Appraiser by April 1 each year (See 193.062, F.S.). Property owners who lease, lend or rent property must also file.