Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-16-2011, 07:51 AM

2,406 posts, read 7,909,487 times

Advertisements

I have noticed that many plants/flowers are starting to bloom....and it will be strawberry season shortly as well!

What can I plant that will start blooming now through spring or even summer?
Its in the mid 70's here in Tampa during the day and mid 50's at night. I don't mind planting annuals just want to see some blooms and color!

Edit: Need to be fairly low maintenance though I'm a complete amateur! The only plants that have survived here are the ones we hired somone to plant/take care of lol!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-19-2011, 10:26 AM

2,637 posts, read 12,641,061 times
My current favorite "annual" are those cute double Kalanchoe blossfeldiana they have now that look like mini roses, I've seen them in several colors. I bought a couple last spring and they have been blooming continuously ever since! I mean literally, they had flowers on them even through the deepest part of the summer when all my other plants take a siesta, and they've kept blooming throughout the winter even with no cold protection. They have succulent leaves that store water so handled the dry season really well.

Old 02-21-2011, 06:36 AM

2,406 posts, read 7,909,487 times